Award Winner DMA Engineers and Bruce Dan, AHSCA QLD

For their work on the Sundale Garden Village project, DMA Engineers won the AHSCA QLD Hydraulic Consultant Design of the Year award at the 2019 Plumbing and Gas Industry Awards, held on Friday 19 July at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Brisbane.

Rory O’Malley, who is the leading hydraulics services engineer on the $120 million Sundale Garden Village project, picked up the award on behalf of the company. The project is the Sunshine Coast’s first health and aged care facility to be certified under the national EnviroDevelopment sustainability certification and the first to receive ‘six leaf’ accreditation in all six defined sustainability program categories.

The client’s desire to “kick some seriously green goals” with their EnviroDevelopment certifications required innovative and unique ideas for the hydraulics design. Some of the specific design innovations included with the project were electric instantaneous hot water and a fully coordinated ‘Wet’ stormwater system in the basement.

Hosted by Master Plumbers’ Association of Queensland (MPAQ) in partnership with Event Partner Tradelink, the Plumbing and Gas Industry Awards aim to highlight the hard work and dedication invested into the industry by apprentices, plumbers, gasfitters, hydraulic consultants and other industry individuals.

This year the sell-out awards recognised individuals and companies in 18 categories and hosted VIPs including the Minister for Housing and Public Works, Digital Technology and Sport, the Hon. Mick de Brenni MP, the Shadow Minister for Housing and Public Works, Energy, Innovation and Digital Technology, Michael Hart MP, State Secretary for the Plumbers Union Qld, Gary O’Halloran and Commissioner of the Queensland Building and Construction Commission, Brett Bassett.

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Leave comment

There are 0 comments