Award Winners Hollywood Plumbing and the Honourable Mick de Brenni, Minister for Housing and Public Works, Minister for Digital Technology and Minister for Sport

The Howard Smith Wharves revitalisation project, breathing life into one of Brisbane’s most historical sites and offering a new entertainment and lifestyle destination, was featured at the 2019 Plumbing and Gas Industry Awards, with Hollywood Plumbing taking home the Department of Housing and Public Works Innovative Project Award.

The site is a 3.4 hectare, 560m parcel of Brisbane CBD located under the Northern side of the Story Bridge, and now contains a five-star hotel, multiple restaurants and function venues plus green space gardens and lifestyle areas.

Due to the acoustic requirements of the hotel, drainage systems were installed using a piping system made with the latest technology in polypropylene and mineral fibres to ensure minimal noise levels were generated during operation. There was also innovative pumping solutions utilised to maintain a dry basement in the 360 bay underground carpark.

Hosted by Master Plumbers’ Association of Queensland (MPAQ) in partnership with Event Partner Tradelink, the Plumbing and Gas Industry Awards aim to highlight the hard work and dedication invested into the industry by apprentices, plumbers, gasfitters, hydraulic consultants and other industry individuals.

This year the sell-out awards recognised individuals and companies in 18 categories and hosted VIPs including the Minister for Housing and Public Works, Digital Technology and Sport, the Hon. Mick de Brenni MP, the Shadow Minister for Housing and Public Works, Energy, Innovation and Digital Technology, Michael Hart MP, State Secretary for the Plumbers Union Qld, Gary O’Halloran and Commissioner of the Queensland Building and Construction Commission, Brett Bassett.

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Leave comment

There are 0 comments